Reading Today: April 28th

Way back at the beginning of the year I recorded some of the work my little Kindergartner and I had been doing regarding his reading and also some of my own “reading” lessons, as well. We almost made it through the entire 100 Easy Lessons book, in fact I think we are on lesson 88, but it was just too much for him. He could read it just fine, but the workload was wearing him down. (I still recommend the book, although it obviously isn’t perfect for everyone.)

So after switching to just library books for awhile (we’ve read A LOT of Fly Guy books), I started to look around at Bob Books. And a friend of mine, bless her, gave me all of hers! Thanks, friend!

So now little K and I read 3 Bob books a day. Our sequence goes like this; On day one we read books 1, 2, and 3, then on day two we read books 2, 3, and 4. Day four greets us with books 3, 4, and 5, etc. etc.

We are somewhere in the middle of set 2, maybe book 9 or 10.

I thought at first my kindergartener wouldn’t be terribly interested in “easy” books, because his imagination is super wild and I just assumed the books wouldn’t be able to keep up with him.

As it turns out, there wasn’t much of a need to worry.

DSC08195

After reading the above pages he says to me, “Mom, I wish I was Jon. And I wish Polly would fly and land on my arm. But instead of Jon, my name would be Lighting Victor. And Polly would actually be an eagle. And then I would have leather armor on my arms so his talons wouldn’t scratch me. And we would go into battle. And then…

Jon, Dolly, and Polly are keeping little K well entertained.

And I am thankful.

This is my kindergartener reading Lollipops for the third and final time, before moving on to “Frogs” and then “The Red Car.” I wanted to get a video of him reading a new books that he hadn’t read before, but it wasn’t meant to be this time. Oh well. I’m sure there will be other days.

Leave a Reply

