Eternal Families and Love

Because one of the reasons I homeschool my children is to help foster a family and home environment full of love, I think it is suitable to share the next Visiting Teaching message. Last month was so wonderful, and this one – also wonderful – gave me a good action item to work on.

Here is a short quote from the message that explains how the theology of the family is based on the Creation, the Fall, and the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

“The Creation of the earth provided a place where families could live. God created a man and a woman who were the two essential halves of a family. It was part of Heavenly Father’s plan that Adam and Eve be sealed and form an eternal family.

“… The Fall made it possible for them to have sons and daughters.

“[Christ’s} Atonement allows for the family to be sealed together eternally. It allows for families to have eternal growth and perfection. The plan of happiness, also called the plan of salvation, was a plan created for families.” – Julie B. Beck.

What got me thinking was a spin off question from the question to ponder at the very bottom of the message. The question was “Why is the family the most important unit in time and in eternity?” but I asked myself, “how can I make my family more of an eternal family and less of a family caught up in the daily grind, stress, and sometimes mess of mortality?”

Well, God is eternal and God is love. If I want my family to be closer to God and closer to our goal of eternity, my family should also be full of love. (This is not rocket science, but it was a good time to honestly investigate how I was doing in this area.)

So my action item, and one I have thought about every morning since I first read this monthly message, is “What can I do today to fill my home (and family – through example and teachings) with love? What words do I need to say (or NOT say) and actions I need to do (more hugging, snuggling, really listening, paying attention, spending more time with, etc.) or NOT do (getting unreasonably upset, throwing “adult” temper tantrums, being too self-absorbed) to help my children know that I love them and encourage them to do the same with their siblings?” For me, I need to work on not freaking out when my children freak out, but instead responding calmly and with love and understanding, and dropping my To Do list every now and then to just be with my children in their world and letting them know that what is important to them is also important to me, because THEY are important to me.

It is helping me immensely. And I feel like my home, although not perfect or squabble and stress free, is a more loving and comfortable place to be.

dsc06167

Leave a Reply

