The Laws of Motion in (Very Short) Motion Pictures

Clip One:  Newton’s 2nd Law. This little demonstration shows how momentum is transferred from one marble to another… well, we maybe went a little overboard. Why knock down just one marble when you can hit 15?

 

Clip Two: Here is another 2nd Law of Motion clip dealing with momentum. We dropped both the basketball and the tennis ball at the same time (with the tennis ball right above the basketball.) After the basketball hit the ground it bounced back up and struck the tennis ball thus transferring its momentum into the tennis ball. Momentum is calculated by mass and velocity (speed) and since the tennis ball couldn’t absorb extra mass from the basketball, its absorbed (that is probably not the right word but just go with it for now) the velocity. The result was not exactly what we expected. It was better!

And for the bonus: This evening my 4th grader explained to me how stealing someone’s jump on a trampoline works and why it is easier to do if the other person is bigger than you. Hint: it is a transfer of momentum.  *Boing!*

And for the disclaimer: Don’t judge me too harshly. I have a hard time motivating myself and finding time to do my hair and makeup (and putting on clothes I would actually wear in public) until 5 minutes before I actually have to go out in public… which means I look like I just rolled out of bed and threw on a pair of jeans in these videos. At least I’m not still in my pajamas!

 

Clip Three: Newton’s third law. At first I thought this was going to be a dud… because the first time we tried it actually was a dud. But persistence pays off, I guess. The third law states that for every action there is an equal, but opposite reaction. So we made a rocket out of a balloon, straw, and string. The action was to let the gas shoot out of our rocket (let the air squeel out of the balloon) and the reaction was our rocket was was shot off down the run. I wish we had had bigger balloons…

And a Bonus Video…

 

 

 

One thought on “The Laws of Motion in (Very Short) Motion Pictures

Leave a Reply

