You win some…

… and sometimes you win A WHOLE LOT! It’s often the little things, though, that let me know that we are on the right track, creating beautiful, full relationships, and developing whole, responsible, intelligent people with integrity and character.

I’ve compiled a list of “winning” moments from the last week or so. It might not be intuitive as to why these phrases or moments mean so much to me, but they do. So humor me and maybe smile and nod once in a while. ūüôā

  • When we experienced a fit of full-on-fall-on-the-ground laughing until we couldn’t breathe while reading about Hoop Snakes (“Elijah from Buxton.”)
  • When my child built a model of a door and, without prompting, pointed out the fixed wheel and axle and lever on his model. (A model of a door sounds really boring, but it was actually kind of cool. ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†dsc05856
  • When I tried to explain the relationship between weight, mass, and gravity and then the moment my child’s face lit up and she said, “Oh! Ok, yeah I got it.”
  • When we somewhat spontaneously held P.E. outside in the colorful fall canyon with friends.
  • When my child, who hates to write anything, connected with a new curriculum and then complained when¬†Writing and Rhetoric wasn’t on the schedule for that day.
  • When I asked my child what new words he had learned and he answered, “Hallo. Wie geht es dir? Gut, danke. Sonne. Tisch. Kuchen.” And my other little shouts out to the German movie on TV, “The Mond is not heiss!”
  • When my child got through a particularly difficult section of reading, I praised him for his diligent work, and he beamed from ear to ear and gave me a huge hug.
  • When I came downstairs 15 minutes before “school” started and my kids were sitting in their “sofa boat” working already. “Shhhhh…. we are working here!”dsc05853
  • When two of the littles were watching a German for Kids video upstairs, the baby was napping, and the two oldest were downstairs with me, laughing and giggling and loving being together doing their¬†schoolwork
  • When I listened to my often grumpy child laugh all the way through her math lesson.
  • When we read “The People Could Fly” at the kitchen table and wept together trying to imagine the suffering of the American southern slaves. And then crying for gratitude at how God knows us all, His compassion, mercy, understanding, justice, love, and peace.
  • When my son ran up to me excitedly at the library and exploded, “I found the most awesome section of the library! It’s the biography section!!” (He checked out, and read within a week, about Meriwether Lewis, Daniel Boone, Davy Crockett, Christopher Columbus, and Benjamin Franklin.)
  • When working on math, rearranging addition and subtraction problems to solve for “y,” my child¬†read the following problem, “23 – y = 17.” ¬†He answered, with his quirky home school humor, “change the “y” to an “i” and add “es,” and then busted out laughing at his own joke. (He was supposed to say something like “change the y to 17 and the 17 to y and then solve the equation.”)
  • When my child could recall that you find the mechanical advantage of a wheel and axle system by dividing the radius of the wheel by the radius of the axle.
  • Snuggly wake up calls and that gentle(!) nudge out of bed, because we aren’t in a hurry to get anywhere in the morning and my babies need a little snuggle time with me (before I get the boot, of course! Those are NOT my feet.)¬†dsc05858

I want to be honest here and share that homeschool life isn’t all peaches and cream or rainbows and lollipops. But to be completely honest, I do have to share that I would not trade a single homeschool day of my life away for a traditional American public school experience. ¬†That other path just isn’t for us. There are an abundance of minutes, moments, mornings, afternoons, and evenings¬†that fill my heart right to the top with joy and gratitude. So much more, so that even though the hard times are there. are sometimes really, REALLY hard, and sometimes seem to last forever, (and also are sometimes more interesting to talk about!) those peaceful, happy good times overshadow them (almost) completely.

I do so love homeschooling. It makes me feel like I am winning at life.

Leave a Reply

