Battle of the Banana Breads

Just a fun little no-science-in-summer science experiment. We had a gazillion old frozen bananas in our freezer and my husband was getting at me to make banana bread.

So we did.

DSC05036

Six loaves of banana bread.

We decided to do a little comparison and contrast on baking methods.

Method 1: the bread machine – lovingly donated by the kids’ great grandmother. One loaf for that machine

.DSC05044

Method 2: the regular oven – 3 loaves

DSC05043

Method 3: the sun oven – a birthday present from 2 years ago. Two loaves in that guy.

DSC05042

The idea was to use the same recipe for all ovens, but I figured we better use a bread machine recipe for the bread machine. I’m not a great baker or anything, but I can make a pretty decent loaf of white or wheat bread in a regular oven. Still, give me something “simple” and “easy” like a bread machine and I generally fail.

DSC05046

I’m not sure if this is considered a fail, but I’m not sure this can be called banana bread either. More like white bread that happens to have 2/3 cup of banana mush. The kids liked the bread, but I don’t think I’ll use that recipe again.

The sun oven is supposed to make your baked goods more moist. But I may have over baked these. Flat on the top, but probably our best loaves of bread. Not that they tasted much different than the regular oven loaves.

Which I probably over baked. They were a little dry.

This is pretty simple science. In fact, the “science” we were practicing is mostly observation. There is a lot to be said about observing closely and noticing similarities and differences. That is how, after all, you come up with questions. Also cooking and baking is always a great way to practice math. Because obviously when you are doubling, or tripling, a recipe, you’ve got some numbers to manipulate. The best part about this kind of science, you know, banana bread science, is eating it.

DSC05047DSC05050

Although I six loaves is a lot for one family – even with five little kids!

And I still have about 12 old frozen bananas in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

