Summer is Almost Over

Which means that official academic school should be starting to take over my brain power right now. But it isn’t. Instead, I’m still thinking about all my unfinished projects.  Like this one…

And this one…

And this one…

DSC04844

And our new project (because we needed another one) this one…

DSC04843

Therefore not so much time on this one… (including all the stuff in the box and the extra-curriculars.)

DSC04850

So although I have planned out every class for every student in generalities and have purchased almost everything I need for said classes, I haven’t spent much time thinking about how it is all going to work.

Also, the thought of how this is all going to work is a little overwhelming.

When I had one child in homeschool, I was trying to manage his subjects, plus a preschooler, toddler, and a baby. It was juggling around family life, which I had already been doing previous to homeschooling. It seemed hard at the time – well, ok, it was hard. But after adjusting what I thought we were supposed to be doing to what I actually wanted to do and what worked for us, it was a lot of fun, too.

Then I had two children in homeschool. And juggling two students, plus a preschooler, a toddler, and a pregnancy turned preemie baby in the NICU was harder. But I simplified some things. We didn’t go fancy. We went standard. And we survived and it was fun.

Well, now I have 3 students, a preschooler, and a toddler. I know in the end it will be fine. I know we will manage. We will basically stick with the schedule and routine we have done before. If things are too stressful we will scale back. If there is anything I have learned from my short time as a homeschool mom it is that there is absolutely nothing wrong with scaling back. In fact, most of the time, there is nothing wrong and everything right with scaling back. So although I’m not afraid, I am still a little nervous. And a little overwhelmed. And a little just waiting a bit before I go and tackle all the logistics. I am a lot hoping my 4th grader will be more independent. I am a lot hoping that the toddler keeps taking two naps a day, you know, maybe until he’s 5. I am a lot hoping that I will suddenly be filled with limitless energy and patience and understanding. (That sounds like a joke, but I am surprised every year at how much better I start to feel when the temperature starts to drop. I was never meant to live in a desert!)

Anyway, because it is helpful for me to write everything out, I am just going to put our “big picture” down so we can see it visually. Just like with all the home projects with which I started this post, if it is all laid out in front, it is easier for me to organize and then take one bite at a time. You know, like eating an elephant.

4th Grader

  • Math
  • Writing and Rhetoric – new this year and a cause for some stress
  • Grammar
  • Spelling
  • Handwriting
  • Physics
  • History (1860 to 1990)
  • Latin
  • Piano
  • Soccer (spring and fall)
  • Building Basics (foundations of engineering) –new this year and a cause for some stress

2nd Grader

  • Math
  • Grammar
  • Spelling
  • Handwriting
  • Physics
  • History ((1860-1990)
  • Piano
  • Soccer (spring and fall)
  • Building Basics (foundations of engineering) – new this year and cause for some stress
  • MCO choir –new this year and cause for some stress

Kindergartner

  • Reading
  • Math
  • Physics
  • History (1860-1990)
  • German
  • Building Basics (foundations of engineering) – new this year and cause for some stress

You know, and then I have to keep the rest of the family alive and the house semi-clean (Which is a later post on chores. And when I say semi-clean, that truly is pretty much the highest level our house achieves.)

The good news is, I’m not THIS guy yet. Ha!

But the honest news is that even though I have bought all those beautiful books and engineering and science kits, I am not ready to open them up yet and take a look, either.

But I’ll get there.

There is still a few weeks left in summer, after all.

Leave a Reply

