Education and Freedom

 

My husband and I went to a presentation last weekend titled “Freedom and Education.” One of the purposes of this presentation was to advocate for the support of families and teachers through a localized educational system as opposed to a federal educational system.

This, strangely but at the same time understandably, is a sensitive topic for some people, especially those who work in educational fields. What I appreciate about this presentation, though, is that the presenter isn’t attacking our local schools or parents who don’t know or don’t believe in the research. He is bringing to light how we have gotten to where we are and what we can do to help support families and teachers do what they are supposed to do: teach, enlighten, encourage, instruct, lead, guide, instill good work ethic, kindness, honesty, truth, love. (The parent’s list keeps going and going but you get the picture.)

He, like I, am a fervent supporter of the family and parental rights. It makes me angry that in our society if I, the mom, want to teach my children I have to go to the school district and ask permission. (Hello? I’m pretty sure they are MY children.) And it makes me angry that parents who want to be more involved and are worried about what is being taught to their children are being turned away and belittled and ridiculed. Our educational system has and is eroding parental authority. It was done for the good of the children, of course. But I don’t believe straining family relations is good for anyway – including the entire nation as a whole.

This presentation outlines how that happened. It addresses the concept of freedom and why it is scary for some people. Everyone is for freedom, right? Unless it allows other people to do things we don’t think they should be doing. So how do you get people to do only what you want? Well, watch the presentation – spoiler, it involves teaching your kids.

Culturally, this is not easy stuff to hear. It is so much easier to just drop your kids off at school and trust that everything is fine. It’s easier to not be involved. And culturally, that is how we do it. Many parents are hardly ever with their kids to form those sacred and real relationships with them. That can be hard to do even if you do have lots of time with your kids. As a group we trust that our children are learning everything they need to know in school for 6 hours, in after school activities for another 2 or 3, with their coaches and teams (sportsmanship and good role models, right?) and their friends are all good kids. So the other hours spend with friends isn’t hurting them either. Right? When do we teach them right from wrong? When do we instill in them the knowledge and faith and understanding they will need to navigate this crazy, crazy world? When do we develop that familial bond that will help anchor them through the trying times they will have as they get older? Especially when they spend most of their time away from us actively learning that we don’t really know what we are talking about anyway, we don’t understand them, and we have no authority to try to teach them at all.

Isn’t it just easier to not know and just trust that things are going fine. After all, that’s what everyone else is doing.

(PS: I don’t homeschool because of Common Core. I decided to homeschool long before I had ever heard about Common Core or pretty much any of the stuff presented here.)

(PPS: At first this was sort of an odd meeting to be at, for us at least. We felt kind of out of place. We’re not the sort of people who go to meetings like these. The other attendees were a lot more intense than we are. In fact this group meets once a month and has for years. They include a lot of different speakers and topics. I don’t think we’ll be meeting with them again, but I applaud them in researching and searching for truth, taking a stand, and I wish them very well.)

(PPPS: The beginning kind of through me off, with the Book of Revelations and stuff. I just wasn’t expecting that. But as the presentation went on it started to make more sense and I understood the point he was making. So if the beginning kind of throws you off guard, just stick with it.)

(PPPS: Ok, this is getting ridiculous. But I need to add, I am totally fine if this all sounds like bologna to you. If you feel the need to roll your eyes and chuckle to yourself on my expense, that is totally your right to do so. But I don’t want people to take your natural rights away from you and your children either, so I figured I better help get out this information whether people believe it or not. And I do know most people don’t want to believe it.)

One thought on “Education and Freedom

Leave a Reply

