Is there time for Art Appreciation in your schedule?

Not in mine, either! But I wish there was. I’ve tried a little. But I knew there wasn’t really any time or energy, so although I gave it all I had, it wasn’t very much.

I went to a conference workshop a few years back on integrating famous works of art and classical pieces of music into your homeschool. It seemed all so simple. Only 10 to 15 minutes a day – and you rotated every 3 weeks or something. It was all so easy to set up, implement, and the kids were going to come out having memorized and appreciated all this great stuff!

But I couldn’t do it, no matter how much I wanted to. I didn’t have the mental energy.

Now some day I might. And I am so excited for that someday. And if I can find a way to do it, I will. (See, even in homeschool, at least mine, the arts are the first to go. sad.)

But right now I have 5 little children. I need to wait for them to get a little older and a little more independent. Their education isn’t going to crumble if they don’t have a strong and solid art appreciation course streaming all year long. (As perhaps it would if I didn’t develop and foster their reading, for example.)

But oh how enriching it would be if I could do that now. *sigh*

Which is why THIS link caught my eye. http://enrichmentstudies.com/art-appreciation/ (this is where I got the cover photo – just citing my source, dotting my i’s, hopefully this counts)

I think it will work. So much so that I am almost willing to spend the money to a packet. Except lets be realistic, then I have to go get them color printed which is going to cost me a bunch more. I’m almost willing to do it. I’m so wanting to be willing to do it.

Have you tried it before? Let me know, I want to hear your experiences so I don’t end up wasting my money – or wasting a great opportunity to fill more beauty and goodness into these little hearts and minds in my care.

BUT WAIT!!! There are FREEBIES!! Click here for some a free set to start out with. I just did! http://homeschoolgiveaways.com/art-study-set/?c144112Le

Posted in Art

One thought on “Is there time for Art Appreciation in your schedule?

Leave a Reply

