Confessions

This is the first of what may be a long series of posts. I’m choosing not to keep track – just keepin’ it real.

  1. I haven’t done any homeschool planning in about 4 weeks. But somehow we are all still moving right along. It’s awesome. And although I feel a pull inside of me to start planning again because you know, it is the responsible thing to do, I’m not going to before the year is over.
  2. I am really looking forward to being done with this school year. As much as I LOVE homeschooling and feel it is the very best choice for my family for so many reasons, I secretly, or not so secretly now, wake up every morning and contemplate taking a vacation day and just curling up on the couch and reading books all day long.
  3. Probably the main reason I haven’t done any planning for 4 weeks is because after the kids go to bed, I curl up on the couch and read books all night long. It’s a form of self-medication. That and M&Ms.:)
  4. I realized the other day that I should probably take down the Valentine’s decorations hanging in our “school room” window. And the more I thought about it, I figured I should probably take the Christmas cards hanging up on our wall in the kitchen too. It is April after all.
  5.  During soccer season, when we have games every evening Tuesday through Friday, we mostly eat cold sandwiches, mac and cheese, or cereal for dinner. And usually at 4:30 in the afternoon. I ate a balanced meal probably 95% of my growing up life and I feel bad for my kids that they have to eat macaroni and cheese at all.
  6. I think mac and cheese is gross.
  7. I am really enjoying our impromptu Native American studies. But I think our books are dumb. As in I really think they are dumb. They are too dumbed down. There is a need out there for more complete books on Native American’s tribe/nation by tribe/nation for elementary school kids.
  8. Also, while I’m at it, every single book talks about how peaceful and loving all the Native American’s were. I’m not saying they weren’t, I’m just saying when I grew up, 1, we didn’t really even learn about Native Americans to be honest, but 2, what we “knew” about them was that they were warriors and kidnapped people, tortured and murdered them, and were extremely brutal. I feel like we’ve gone from one extreme to the other here. I wish there was a way to actually know. I don’t believe they were all “savages” at all. But I don’t believe they were all peace loving pacifists either. Maybe it’s because all the books I’m reading are for elementary school kids. Or maybe I just grew up in the 80s before people kind of worried about minority groups to such an extreme and nobody cared if what they were teaching was correct or polite, just if it fit the cartoons and old western novel depictions. Anyway, I’m allowed to think about things that aren’t politically correct, even if people might gasp at the thought that I’m thinking it.
  9. Doing science with my kids makes me frustrated. The science books are cool. But the potential messes drive me bonkers. You wouldn’t know that I cared about making a huge mess in my kitchen by the fact that I haven’t mopped my kitchen floor in a while. hmmm.
  10. I have about 5 drafts of different blog posts in the works and for some reason I can’t seem to finish one and get it online. My two blog readers are going to wonder where I have gone to.
  11. Sometimes I notice my own grammatical mistakes – like prepositions at the end of a sentence – and shrug, leave it there, and consider it part of my personal style.
  12. Speaking of grammar, since when is “dove” as in the past tense of “to dive” not grammatically correct. Sorry guys, I just revert it in my mind every time I see it in print. Does that not sound wrong to anyone else? Seriously, “He dived off the platform.” Sorry, I just can’t move past with that one. He dove.
  13. I think I have become trunky, gotten senioritis, or whatever it is you call in when you are a homeschool mom and the sun is finally out again and you are almost done with the school year! Maybe we call that excited, proud, satisfied (or anticipating satisfaction), tired, a little worn out, and too addicted to YA fiction – just finished the latest Michael Vey and starting Brandon Mull’s “5 Kingdoms.” Plus I just read a neat book about Mary Jemison (look her up! fascinating!), a book called “Storybound” and another called “The League of Beastly Dreadfuls.” That was a strange book.
  14. These last few weeks have been a doozy (hence the reading overload and M&Ms.) This last weekend I just walked about kind of in a stupor. My poor husband. And then today at lunch I said to myself, well, at least it’s almost the weekend again. Except it’s Monday. I’m just going to laugh that one off.
  15. It is about this time of year that I start gearing up for next year – I really, really, really get excited about buying our new school books for the next year!!! That is my nerdy secret pleasure. I can’t wait to buy Latin for Children: Primer B!!! If that doesn’t make me a complete nerd, I’m not sure how else to qualify.

There you go. Confession list one? Check! Now I feel I’ve accomplished something tonight. Back to my book!

Leave a Reply

